You are always home

Frame for sweat lodge at Lake Superior Provinc...
Frame for sweat lodge at Lake Superior Provincial Park, Wawa, Ontario, Canada (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
SweatLodge
SweatLodge (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
sweatlodge
sweatlodge (Photo credit: talkingplant)

No matter where I chance to roam

The place I heal the best is home….

Once while working in Fort McMurray at one of my fathers hotels…..I felt homesick.  An elder stopped by the lobby and asked me how I was doing.  I told him I wanted be at my own home but my family needed the help for the time being.   He smiled and said

You are always home

Where you walk is sacred ground.

This is your home….(pointing his whole body)….

He had my attention.

This is your roof

These are your windows…..

On and on throughout the whole body with the roof being the top of my head and the windows my eyes.

I never forgot that….until now.

12 thoughts on “You are always home

  1. Thank you for this lovely piece. Your poems have a way of responding to my present challenges and easing my passage through the day. Now i understand that no matter where i happen to be, there is really no need to feel lonely because I am always home. Great one.

  2. Breath taking wisdom..my dear,it is always pleasure to visit part of Your soul.Thank You for sharing the beauty inside Your heart with all of us.It is my honor to be here my friend.
    Be blessed,
    :) milena

    1. Yes indeedy dear heart…….thanks for the reminder and the encouragment….going 40K+ within the hour……nice way to come back off holidays and enjoy the Friday fast, the new moon and my refreshed attitude. Blessings to you and yours

Leave a Reply

