Building the fire

Fireplace

Image via Wikipedia

I know you are

many long days on the trail.

I sense your fatigue

 am building a fire

in the hearth of the cabin.

There are cinnamon buns,

homemade beans

and a large moose casserole

with bannock.

Dried meat, and twice turned salt cod

waiting in the pantry.

Jar and jars of preserves

 precious medicines from nature,

herbs and healing balms.

As for me, my love…

I have cut a hole in the ice….

chopped and stacked

the wood weeks ago…

Prepared a brand new quilt

with  stacks of books

close to the window for the best light.

I have written a new song.

Bathed in lavender for hours. 

Made new curtains.

Danced with bear and deer.

They  told you were coming 

Coming home at last.

I am putting on the kettle

Taking off my apron

as I hear 

Your whistle in the forest. 

The fire within the hearth

Is not burning as brightly as

The fire within.

The colours your words bring, make my heart sing

Northern lights in Lappish winter

Cascade Mountain in Banff (Canada)
Cascade Mountain  Banff National Park  Canada 

The sound of your name

brings a tune  forward

from a lost but not  forgotten time

Northern lights in Finnish Lapland

Frozen under the Northern Lights – Image Visit  Finland. 

kaleidoscope of colours

 paint word pictures

in my brain

  caress my heart

and touch me deeply.

The timber of your song,

resonates clear into Soul.

I begin to dance

in time to the rhythm

of  the  melody of you.

It begins to rain…

the moon is still visible

Turning the raindrops

into rainbows 

Filling the sky

in the form of

northern lights.

I dance and twirl

in my own dervish whirling.

I raise my hands.

Sing my love song to the sky.

Suddenly the rain stops.

I turn.

I find you waiting

At the ends of my finger tips.

You ask me to dance

with you

in memory

of other lifetimes.

Your arms guide

me in perfect step

into a crystalline haze.

Soft whispers in my ears

as we dance across the sky

Bringing  me such laughter and joy.

We dance.

We sing.

We are remembering the colours

of our lives together.

We dance on.

Just before dawn

with its golden hues…

The temperature drops

It starts

to freeze everything.

My lips.

My fingertips.

Everything.

Frozen in time.

Just before my eyes

begin to close

in the cold

You take my hands

 warming them in yours.

They find us.

They think it was too late.

Stretched into one another 

frozen dancers

covered deep in snow.

We sleep and dance. 

The melody of your last whispers

Are frozen in my heart.

I am now, 

As are you.

Dancing across the sky

To a sound that only lovers know. 

I awaken to the sound of the phone ringing…

Your voice is saying

“You might not remember me

But I would like to ask you  to  dance.“ 

The sound of your name

brings a tune  forward

from a lost but not  forgotten time

when it was  closely linked to mine.

I hear a melody in your voice

that thunders through my veins,

listening to you I am whole again.

Your voice  and your eyes covey

to me a kaleidoscope of colours

that paint word pictures in my brain

which  caress my heart and touch me deeply.

Lesson from Rumi

Rose In Autumn
Image by ~Jane via Flickr

Going to the Temple within.

The sounds of nature greet me as I open the door.

Sparrows, song birds, budgies and robins all have their say

The fragrence of roses, lilacs and gardenias are filling the ‘room’.

Lets me know the Masters will be appear here soon.

Oh, what blessings, oh, what shear delight.

Love is manifesting in the  light.

I am in the presence.

I am dreaming awake now.

The sounds of love are wafting  through me

More and more Masters now, oh then I saw Rumi…

I asked as bold as you please

“What opened your heart when you wrote?”

He replied.

“Going to the Temple within

The sounds of nature greet me as I open the door

Sparrows, song birds, budgies and robins all have their say

The fragrence of roses, lilacs and gardenias are filling the ‘room’

Lets me know the Masters will be appear here soon.

Oh, what blessings, oh, what shear delight

The love  is manifesting in the light

I am in the presence.”

Then he said…

“Then I just write.”