How long have I loved you?

    How long have I loved you?
    Dear God, I don’t know.
    I remember the first night you walked in the room.
    I knew that I knew you.
    My heart had felt like a tomb.
    We talked and we laughed.
    We sang the prayer song.
    We feasted and fought.
    It was hard not be strong.
    I waited and watched
    As your journey commenced.
    I held my breath when
    You sat on the fence.
    You did not know
    If you were coming or going.
    I wanted to beg you stay.
    But then my heart would be showing.
    I did not know what I could give you.
    I had no idea what to do.
    But as an old woman told me,
    “Just see it through.”
    A few weeks ago
    I felt I had
    no purpose or worth.
    I was tired of living alone
    on the earth.
    My parents had gone.
    I was very aggreviating.
    I felt so alone.
    I was not communicating.
    Then one morning you reminded me
    I had my graduate in “nag.”
    I knew then it was not time
    For me to throw in the towel.
    My heart was breaking.
    I wanted to howl.
    So when you called me
    Because you felt so alone.
    I could relate.
    I could tell you
    Right on the phone,
    “How long have I loved you?
    Dear God, I don’t know.”
    You are on the road home now.
    Perhaps, it is by choice.
    You are living on the edge now.
    You will not take up so much space.
    You are working with at-one-ment.
    You are not running a race.
    You are taking your time now.
    You are living and how.
    You have made your decision
    To be happy joyous and free.
    With regards to the future
    “Just let it be.”
    The song says
    ‘Many things about tomorrow
    I don’t seem to understand.
    But I know who holds the future
    Is the one that is holding my hand.’
    Let go and let God
    You are in the right place.
    Welcome home little Son.
    Welcome home.

The Journey Home

    The road has been winding

    The travel has been travail.

    You are coming home now.

    I hear Souls’ wail.

    The full moon is shining

    Over mountain peak.

    I long to hear your laughter

    Hold your hand to my cheek.

    Your journey was hard.

    It was your choice.

    I was certain you were listening

    To the Master’s Voice.

    Your way home is smoother.

    You are no longer alone.

    The Soul’s wails were deafening

    When you called on the phone.

    What a treasure to have

    A friend on the road.

    Someone who is on the same path.

    Someone who’s look can make you laugh.

    You are coming home now.

    What adventure will you choose?

    It would be fun to be young enough

    To be in your shoes.

    Adventure is waiting

    Of that I am sure.

    My suspicions are that

    Coming home was the cure.